Tags

, , ,


Sometimes they are very blue, and sometimes they are not so blue, but at all times, they have blue somewhere around, hiding, lurking in the background. Ever present, and every ready to shine a brighter blue than I thought possible.

Society says that blue eyes are something to be ashamed of, that we should not talk about our blue eyes. Blue eyes are for the weak people, the people who aren’t strong enough to have brown eyes.

I have spent my life hiding my blue eyes, always self-conscious of just how blue they may appear on a particular day. I cover my blue eyes as best I can – a veil of protection, so no one will see, and judge by blue eyes. So no one will tell me to stop having blue eyes, and start having brown eyes. If I remove the blue from my life, then my eyes most certainly will turn brown. I must just think about it hard enough.

In moments, where I am weak or too trusting, I may let you see my blue eyes, and you will look at them, and you will wonder why I haven’t changed them to brown eyes. “Why” you will ask “do you not change your blue eyes to brown eyes?”. You will say that life would be easier with brown eyes, that there would certainly be less judgement, and fewer raised eyebrows towards me and my blue eyes.

In my mind, I know why you ask, It is not out of malice, or cruel intention, but rather, it is because you have brown eyes. Your brown eyes make it impossible for you to know what it is to have blue eyes. My blue eyes. Any blue eyes. My eyes are blue, and I cannot think them brown. I cannot wish on the first evening star that I may wake tomorrow, with new brown eyes. You will not understand. Just as simply that you don’t understand, or think to understand, wishing to wake up as a bird, soaring through the sky. I cannot think these eyes brown, much as I try.

And there, my friend, is where my loneliness resides. Because only those of us with blue eyes, will ever understand the world of a blue eyed person. We are forever trapped in a world of people with brown eyes, wishing the blue eyes a speedy recovery.

It’s not that you don’t want to understand. The disappointment lies in the fact that you can never understand us with blue eyes. No matter how hard you try. Just as I cannot think my eyes brown, you cannot think yourself into understanding.

Rest assured, we will endeaovour to protect you from our blue eyes. Perhaps we may colour them in for a day, or cover them, a dark disguise shielding you from the truth. But pretence does not change the truth, and the truth is that I have blue eyes.

Today however, today I make a decision that I will not hide my blue eyes anymore from this world. You may judge and jeer in my direction, and lament at my inability to change, but I say no, with no pride, no bravado, and no ill feeling. These are my blue eyes, and while I may not like them, they are mine and I will live with them. I will not hide, and I will not pretend, because it is true to say, I have blue eyes!